Gingerbread (Cupcakes)

Not quite super healthy, but they are yummy and will certainly please a more typical eater.  I actually found them too sweet, so I would reduce the sugar.  But that would explain why many people find my desserts not sweet enough.  🙂  Lots of compliments from the gathering I took these to so I figured I would put it on my blog even if it is an indulgence.

Thanks to my friend Stacy for giving me this recipe (in a jar!) from one of her cooking magazines.

IMG_4866

  • 3 Tbsp warm water
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 cup molasses (I used blackstrap, but any would be fine)
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk of your choice (I used unsweetened original almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1+ Tbsp fresh orange juice

Combine water and flax in a small bowl and set aside for about 5 minutes – will thicken.

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  Add wet ingredients and flax “egg.”  Stir until just combined.  Put into cupcake tin with wrappers (or greased/floured) OR pour in a 8 x 4 loaf pan.  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean, start checking around 10 minutes for the cupcakes and 30 minutes for the loaf.

Whisk up powdered sugar and orange juice until smooth, playing with quantities if needed.

Once gingerbread is cool, drizzle/spread glaze on top and serve!

Leave a Reply

