DIY Deodorant

Ok, so I’m officially crunchy when I’m making my own deodorant!  But this stuff actually works impressively well.  If you google DIY deodorant, you’ll find several options…  I saw this one repeated several places and I had all the ingredients on hand, so I picked this one to try!  I would say it works 85 – 90% as well as my aluminum based deodorant, but without the aluminum and any other unwanted ingredients.

IMG_5163

  • 3 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp100% shea butter
  • 3 Tbsp baking soda
  • 2 Tbsp tapioca starch (or arrowroot powder or some other thickening agent)
  • if you wish – a few drops of essential oils; I used melaluca (tea tree oil) and geranium (I don’t really know much about this subject….)
  • a small jar with lid for making and storing

Place coconut oil and shea butter in the jar.  Fill a small saucepan with several inches of water and place the jar in it.  Heat on medium-low until contents of jar melt, stirring occasionally.

Meanwhile, mix baking soda and tapioca starch in a bowl.  Once the jar contents are completely liquid, stir in dry ingredients.  Add oil, if you wish.  Stir well.  Allow to cool (in fridge for faster cooling).  Once cool, put a lid on the jar for storing.  Apply to armpits like a thick lotion.

**I hear you can reuse an empty deodorant stick and pour the mixture in while still liquid and then allow to cool.  If I try that next time, I’ll report back!  🙂

IMG_5164

Leave a Reply

