Creamy Indian Peas and Greens

This is SO good.  So so good!  You know it’s good when… My 5 year old comes to the table already saying “I’m not hungry” and “I don’t like this” (she’s never had it) and “This looks like poop” (it doesn’t).  Sigh.  Deep breaths.  I insist she take 3 no-thank-you bites.  Takes the 3 bites and says: “How about I finish this and not eat my salad?”  And she likes salad!  Yes, that’s how good it is.  When the stubborn 5 year old goes back on what she originally says to finish it.  🙂  Success!

I modified it from this recipe and served it over brown rice (1 cup uncooked to go with this amount).  It would also taste great with some roti on the side.

IMG_5137 IMG_5140

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 8 garlic cloves, minced
  • ~3 Tbsp fresh ginger, minced (about a 1″ chunk of a good sized ginger root)
  • 1 1/2 bunches of greens of your choice – I used 1 bunch Swiss chard and 1/2 bunch kale; if using Swiss chard, KEEP the stems and dice them up to saute with the onions!!!  I would recommend Swiss chard or spinach for this recipe.  I don’t think it would be as good if it were all kale.  (I just used some kale because I didn’t have enough Swiss chard.)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 Tbsp dried fenugreek leaves, aka Kasoori Methi – that’s what the box will say at an Indian/Asian grocery store (I happen to have some really really old ones in my cabinet… skip it if you don’t)
  • 1 tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups peas, thawed
  • 2/3 cup raw cashews
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tsp succanat or sugar

Saute onion and diced chard stems (if you have them) in water or olive oil until starting to soften.  Add garlic and ginger and continue to saute until everything is tender.  Add spices and stir well.  Add greens, a bit of water, and put on a lid.  (Since I used kale and chard, I cooked the kale about 5 minutes before adding the chard.)  Stir occasionally.  Once starting to wilt, add peas.

At some point while stuff is cooking, puree the cashews and water in a blender until completely smooth.

Once greens are done, add cashew water mixture and sugar.  Bring to a simmer and simmer gently for a few minutes more.  Taste to be sure everything is done to your liking and the spices seem ok.

Enjoy over a bed of rice or however you wish!!  YUM!

6 thoughts on “Creamy Indian Peas and Greens

  1. Patty Smith

    Definitely going to try this with our CSA greens this weekend. Did you add diced carrots, or is that just more chard stems? Also, are you suggesting you leave out the dried fenugreek altogether if you don’t have it? I don’t have any, but thinking I could sub maple syrup for the succanat, since fenugreek is one of the flavorings in natural (not not real) maple syrup. What do you think?

    Reply
    1. jessica37 Post author

      Sorry this comment slipped through without me noticed. It was chard stems.
      I think you could leave out the fenugreek totally. I haven’t researched subs, though!

      Reply
  2. Patty Smith

    Made this last night and it was DELICIOUS! I can hardly believe I made such an authentic Indian dish on my own! I substituted maple syrup for the Fenugreek AND sucanat. Not sure whether it added/detracted/etc since I have never made the dish before. I’m having the leftovers for lunch today and they hold up great. I will definitely make this again!

    My only constructive feedback is that I made it with green chard and kale and it wasn’t super appetizing looking. I think red or rainbow chard might make it more attractive. My kids had a similar reaction to Kira, but agreed it was “pretty good” after they tried it. That’s a pretty good review!

    Reply
    1. jessica37 Post author

      Glad this went well! I agree that it’s not super pretty. I used red chard and it helped, but I think it’s not uncommon for many indian dishes to look kinda grim and taste wonderful! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

