Classic Hummus

I made up this recipe the other day when I was in a hummus making mood.  I first made a big batch of this Black Bean Hummus, put in portion size containers and then threw in my freezer.   Then, I figured I might as well make a standard chickpea one too!

IMG_2960

  • 2 cans chickpeas (I used unsalted), drained
  • 4 Tbsp tahini **See Chef’s note**
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil or extra tahini oil (you can skip this for a lower fat hummus)
  • 2 large garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 3/4 tsp salt (reduce or eliminate if your chickpeas are salted)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 8 Tbsp water (1/2 cup), or as needed

Throw it all in a blender or food processor and let it go to town!  Add the water as needed for your preferred hummus consistency, a tablespoon at a time.

It freezes great, so throw some in your freezer for last minute guest entertaining or a snack for yourself.

**Chef’s note: Now that I have a cool powerful Vitamix, I made this recipe using sesame seeds instead of tahini!!  Replace the tahini with 1/3 cup sesame seeds and use all of the 1/2 cup water from the start.  Tip:  Add everything except some of the chickpeas to start.  Blend well, THEN add remaining chickpeas.  Use the tamper throughout the process to keep everything moving.  Sweet!**

Leave a Reply

