Zucchini Fries

My friend Elizabeth suggested this recipe to me (with modifications) for another use for my abundant zucchini.  They were a bit time consuming, but quite yummy.  I served them with a bit of jarred pasta sauce for dipping (I used Muir Glen Tomato Basil).  And for leftovers the next day, I used a bit of my lemon tahini sauce for dipping.  Great both ways!

Oh, and you get to drink a beer while making this dish…. just to use up the remainder of the bottle of course.  😉

IMG_2763

  • 8 – 12 oz of zucchini, cut into french fry shape and size
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup beer
  • 1 cup bread crumbs – I used toasted and processed sliced bread, but I will use store bought breadcrumbs next time so that they are finer

Stir chickpea flour, salt and garlic powder in one bowl; beer in a second bowl; bread crumbs in a third.

Preheat oven to 425.  Spray a cooling rack with a bit of oil and place on top of a baking sheet.  Dip zucchini fries in bowl one, then two, then three.  Then place on cooling rack.  Once all are complete, back for about 18 – 22 minutes or until crispy to your liking.

IMG_2754 IMG_2756

Leave a Reply

