The Freezer is your Friend!

I use our freezer to store lots of things, often portioned out – either to make things easier later or to save money by not having to throw things away.

Some examples

IMG_0692 IMG_0693

If you buy a jar of tomato paste for just a tablespoon or two, don’t let the reaminder get moldy in the fridge.  Scoop out 1 Tbsp quantities on wax paper and put in a freezer on a plate or pan.  Once frozen, store in a ziploc bag in your freezer (labeled) for future use.

IMG_0688 IMG_0737

Do you ever buy a bottle of red wine for a recipe and then it goes bad in your fridge?  We are more beer drinkers in our house, so wine tends to just sit around.  I used our big freezer to do this – not sure if you would have as much success with a warmer freezer.  The cubes of wine stay a little slushy because of the alcohol, but stay together and frozen enough for this to work.  I then put them in a ziploc bag for freezer storage.  And next time I want to make a dinner with red wine, I will already have what I need.

Other Ideas

When I open a jar of pasta sauce but don’t use the whole thing, I just throw the rest of the jar (as is!) in the freezer for the next time.  Easy and no more moldy sauce!

Entertaining?  If you buy hummus, artichoke dip, or whatever, serve out what you need and then put the remaining jars in the freezer for the next time!

Canned beans – I stopped buying cans a couple of years ago.  Instead I buy dry, cook them in my crockpot and freeze them in can sized portions.  SO much cheaper and you avoid the BPA and other chemicals in the can lining!

Cookies?  Make a double batch of dough and freeze half of it in cookie dough balls for easy baking in the future.  (Like with the tomato paste, freeze on wax paper first then transfer to a ziploc bag once frozen.)  I did this a lot when we were selling our house.  I would pull 5 cookie dough balls out of the freezer to bake when we had a showing.  Made the house smell great and had a nice snack to share.  (Baking may take a couple minutes longer when you are starting with frozen dough.)

If you have any other good idea, please feel free to comment below!

2 thoughts on “The Freezer is your Friend!

  1. Patty

    Love the red wine idea! I never would have thought to freeze it!

    I make big batches of pancakes and freeze them. Just let them cool completey, put small pieces of wax paper in between, and put them in a freezer bag. Not quite as good as freshly made but better than some alternatives!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

