Tzaziki

Tzaziki was one of my favorite things before I went plant based and cut out dairy.  While at my friend Elizabeth’s house, she served a fantastic plant based take on tzaziki.  I was soooo excited to make it at home and use it to top falafel (or falafel pie)!  Since it makes quite a bit, later this week I plan on using it to top Zucchini Cakes.  This is based on a recipe in Veganomicon.

Super easy to make ahead of time (and give the flavors a better chance to meld)!  I made it in the morning for serving in the evening, although I often try to make it the night before if I have time.  Makes dinner prep in the evening that much easier!

IMG_0504

  • 1 pound cucumber, peeled and grated (I used food processor for quick grating, since you’ll need it anyway later)
  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • pinch of black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp dried dill (or fresh if you have it) – I love things very dill-y, so if you don’t back off on the dill a lot!

After grating the cucumber, remove half of it from the food processor and squeeze well to get rid of as much water as possible.  Then place in a bowl.  Add the remaining ingredients EXCEPT dill to the food processor with the remaining half of cucumber and let the processor run for a while until everything is very smooth.  Add to the bowl, season with dill and stir well.  Chill before serving.

One thought on “Tzaziki

  1. Pingback: Falafel | Plant Based for Health

Leave a Reply

