The I have nothing to eat for lunch Wrap

I’m totally a leftover eater.  With a small family of 3, we generally have enough leftovers for my husband and I to eat for lunch the next day.  But, every now and then, we don’t and I panic.  This isn’t a very exciting recipe, but maybe an inspiration if you find yourself in the same boat.  Sometimes I need the “permission” of a recipe to make something different for lunch.  I’m weird.  🙂

IMG_0540

  • 1 tortilla (I use the Ezekiel 4:9 ones)
  • Hummus of your choice – today I used this that I had just pulled out of my freezer last night
  • 1/3 head broccoli or other veggie of your choice (you can even use frozen!!)
  • other possible add ins: avocado, lettuce, red pepper, cucumber, tomato….

Chop the broccoli into bite size pieces and heat in a non stick pan with a bit of water (omit water if using frozen, it will release it’s own water) with the lid on.  Tastes yummy if it gets browned a bit, stirring occasionally and covering again.  Add more water as it cooks if necessary.  Or, make it really easy and just microwave the broccoli!  (If fresh, add a bit of water, cover, and microwave about 2 – 3 minutes.  If frozen, microwave about 1 minute – no need to add water.)

Warm a tortilla.

Spread hummus on the tortilla, top with cooked broccoli and anything else of your choice.  If you want to, you can season it some, but I found the hummus gave it enough flavor.  Simple, quick, yummy, healthy.  What more can you ask for??

IMG_0537

Leave a Reply

