Tortilla Chips

Thanks to my friend Patty for sharing this idea with me.  I like the Ezekial 4:9 Sprouted Tortillas because they have a great ingredient list.  I enjoy using these tortillas for wraps and burritos, but they definitely are a little stiffer and tougher than a standard whole wheat tortilla.  But, they make good chips!

My four year old is on a kick of eating these with her lunch – way healthier than a tortilla chip out of a bag!

IMG_0519

  • Ezekial 4:9 Sprouted Tortillas or tortillas of your choice
  • Spray olive oil
  • OPTIONAL: Salt or other seasoning

(I’ve never salted or seasoned for my daughter and she doesn’t seem to mind.  As long as I’m dipping them into something flavorful, I don’t feel like I need any salt either.)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Lightly spray one side of the tortilla and then spread/rub with your hands.  If you are planning on salting or seasoning, do it now on the oiled side.

Cut tortilla into triangles or whatever shapes of your choosing.  Lay on a baking sheet and bake.  Set the timer initially for 3 minutes and then 1 or 2 minute increments thereafter, checking each time it rings.  These can go from perfect to too crispy/browned quickly.  You want to pull them out when they are slightly browned and no longer pliable.  They will crisp up more once you remove them and move them on a cutting board or plate to cool.

IMG_0508 IMG_0513

Leave a Reply

