Run it through the Garden Pizza

Follow us on facebook. Like us HERE.

Back when I was in college, there was this pizza truck called The Hot Truck parked on West Campus at Cornell every night.  Bob was the owner and main cook and I used to go there on a regular basis for late night snacks. (particularly during my freshman year when I lived on West Campus, but then again some my upperclassmen years after frat parties that were near it).  In fact, I used to get lots of free Hot Truck pizza because I would collect orders from our dorm, people would give me money and round up to the nearest dollar and then I would have enough extra to buy myself something for free.  A fantastic enterprise!

Anyway, the pizzas had funny names and the add ons had names that were even funnier.  My favorite add on name was “Run it through the garden” which meant to add lettuce to the pizza.  This pizza doesn’t have lettuce and isn’t anything like those french bread pizzas, but has most everything else you’d find in a garden!  So, this recipe is a tribute to The Hot Truck, late night’s freshman year (and beyond), and lots of fun memories.

IMG_8807

First, I make the pizza dough using this recipe.

Preheat oven to 400.  Then, I cut up (or prepare) about 2 – 2 1/2 lbs of veggies.  Veggies that I want roasted (here: green peppers, onions, zucchini, broccoli, and carrots), I toss with a bit of olive oil, some salt, and a healthy sprinkling of dried Italian spices, like oregano, basil, and marjoram.  Oh, and garlic powder.  I like lots of garlic powder.  Roast them for about 30 minutes or until cooked to your liking.  My additional toppings were mushrooms and thawed shelled edamame.

I prepare the pizza pan with a light coating of olive oil (smeared around with a paper towel) and some salt and garlic powder sprinkled on it.

Then, I roll out my pizza dough to approximately the shape of the pan, carefully lift it onto the pan and then stretch to fill the entire thing and form a crust around the edges.  (I tear off extra amounts and use those as some crust.)  If you want a crispier crust, bake the dough for about 5 minutes (in the same oven with the roasting veggies at 400 degrees) before topping.  Then I top with about 2/3 of a jar of pasta sauce, the mushrooms & edamame, and the roasted veggies.  Then bake for another 20 minutes or until the crust is done to your liking.  Serve with a salad and you have a lovely meal that is a far cry in healthiness from the college quality Hot Truck.   🙂

IMG_8790 IMG_8792 IMG_8794 IMG_8796 IMG_8797 IMG_8798 IMG_8801 IMG_8802 IMG_8803 IMG_8807

Leave a Reply

