Pasta with Creamy Squash Sauce

I made this recipe up earlier this week.  The idea was abrewing in my head while Kira was at school and then I knew I needed some fresh ginger to make it happen.  Luckily my friend Patty had some on hand to share.  🙂

My daughter does not really like winter squashes, but she liked this pasta dish!!  (And those of us who do like winter squashes, liked it too.)  Serve with a green salad or some green veggie.

IMG_8722

  • 1 1/2 – 2 lbs winter squash (I used 2 small acorn squashes)
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews, soaked in hot water for 30+ minutes then drained
  • 10 oz pasta
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 large bouillon cube (or 1 small)
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • up to 1/4 tsp more white pepper, to taste
  • 1/4+ cup water, as needed

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Cut winter squash(es) in halves or quarters.  Brush with olive oil and season with 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp white pepper.  Roast until very fork tender, time will vary greatly depending on the squash sizes.  (If you are in a rush, cut your squash into smaller chunks – maybe even eighths.)

Boil some water for pasta.  Remove some of the boiling water and pour on cashews.  Cook pasta according to package directions.

Once the squash is tender, use a spoon to scoop out all of the squash flesh.  Place in a blender or a measuring cup/bowl if using an immersion blender.  Add drained cashews, and last list of ingredients.  Blend well, adding water as needed for your desired consistency.  Toss with hot pasta and serve!

IMG_8709 IMG_8715 IMG_8719

4 thoughts on “Pasta with Creamy Squash Sauce

    1. jessica37 Post author

      I have seen that recipe – it’s what got me thinking to do what I did, but I don’t think I would have liked the flavor profile on that one as much as what I did for mine. (Especially Dan and Kira – the miso, nutritional yeast, squash combo doesn’t sound super appealing to me….) If you try the ppk one, let me know what you think!!!

      Reply
  1. Elizabeth

    We loved it -I’m sure they are very similar! The miso and yeast aren,t strong, just added a little saltiness (like your boullion) and cheesiness. I added a bunch of chopped kale into the pasta for the last minute, and served with sliced tomatoes. Katherine is not big on ginger…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

