Squash Lasagna

I came across this recipe and it sounded intriguing. I was particularly excited to try the celeriac (celery root) in place of lasagna noodles, but I couldn’t find any at either of the stores I shop at. (Funny because we got it a couple of times in our CSA box and I never was particularly excited about it! Now when I wanted it, I couldn’t find it.) If you can find celery root, you might check out the link and try it with the celery root instead of my lasagna noodles (gluten free) that I use here.

As a whole the casserole was a bit soft.  If you like a very plain lasagna with just cheese and sauce, it will have a similar texture to that.  I prefer more STUFF in my lasagna, though.  That being said, my 4 year old liked it; and she probably liked that it was smooth and creamy without much other stuff in it!  I think that I would like to experiment with this and add some other roasted veggies as a layer.

IMG_8056

Squash Sauce

  • 4 1/2 lbs. butternut squash or other winter squash
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt to taste
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp fresh squeezed lemon juice

Noodles & Spinach

  • 9 lasagna noodles (I used gluten free)
  • 1 bunch spinach, washed, stems removed, and chopped a bit

Bean Bechamel Sauce

  • 6 cups of white beans, drained and rinsed (or 2 cups dried beans, cooked)
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt, or to taste (I used 1 tsp but the beans were not canned and thus not salted!)
  • 1/2 cup water

Prepare Squash Sauce: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut squashes in half and place on a pan skin side down. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Roast for 30 – 60 minutes until soft. Scoop out the squash into a food processor, add garlic and lemon juice and process until smooth. Season with salt to taste.

Prepare Noodles: Boil noodles until starting to soften, adding the spinach at the very end until wilted. Remove noodles and drain. Drain water and spinach into a colander, squeezing water out of the spinach.

Prepare Bean Bechamel Sauce: Add all ingredients except water to a food processor and process until smooth, adding water as needed. Be sure the sauce is nice and smooth. Salt to taste.

In a 9 x 13 pan, layer:

  • a little squash sauce
  • 3 noodles
  • squash sauce
  • spinach
  • bean bechamel sauce
  • 3 noodles
  • squash sauce
  • spinach
  • bean bechamel sauce
  • 3 noodles
  • a little squash and bean sauce to cover noodles

Bake (covered) at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes.

IMG_8044 IMG_8046 IMG_8049 IMG_8050 IMG_8052

Leave a Reply

