Beets, Beets, Roasted Beets!

Image

I love beets.

I mean you can’t help but love the deep, deep red color of the most common variety.  And they are super good for you – just read this and you’ll want to eat them:  http://www.nutrition-and-you.com/beets.html

I think my love for them was not at first taste, though.  I think back to my first experience cooking with beets which was my first year doing the Grant Family Farms CSA.  I kinda got a bit burned out on beets that season.  But, then the second season rolled around and I couldn’t get enough of them!  When I season was over, I even continued buying beets at our local Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage.  Then this year (our 3rd season with the CSA) we even planted beets in our garden, too.  We recently harvested all of our garden beets, so I have a bit of a stockpile right now, as you can see in the picture.

So, whether you are new to beets or a seasoned beet chef, I hope that maybe you can take away a few tips on beets!

Roasted beets are my go-to recipe for beets.  I roast a bunch and keep them in the fridge to use in salads for the week.  Or, just serve them as a side dish.  Yummy either way!

First of all, if you get beets that still have the greens on them, don’t go throwing them away!

Image

Beet greens rock!   I use them in my Greek Greens recipe in place of or in addition to spinach.  I consider them a replacement in any recipe that calls for cooked spinach or swiss chard.  Cut them off and put them in their own bag for later use!

Preparing Beets for Roasting

  1. If they are really dirty, throw them all in your sink filled with water to get the major dirt off of them.  Mine were super dirty as most came from our garden and thrown right into a bag in our fridge.
  2. Cut off the tops and bottoms.  (Check out the gorgeous selection of beet colors!)
  3. Now some people prefer to peel their beets.  I hate peeling beets so I just scrub them instead.  I use my green scrubber and scrub until the brown stuff comes off.  You can see in pic 3 above that I’m done with the right and not with the left.
  4. Looking pretty and ready for chopping.
  5. Use your biggest knife.  I used to be scared of big knives.  (I actually still am a little.)  But, trust me, it is SO much easier to chop beets with my 8″ chef than it is with my much smaller and narrower 6″ slicer.  Also, be sure to use the middle of the knife and not close to the pointy end.  So much easier.  Cut each beet in half and slice about 1/8″ – 1/4″ slices.
  6. Put on a baking sheet.  (I line it with foil for easier cleanup.)  Drizzle some olive oil, salt and pepper and toss to coat.
  7. Bake at 400 degrees until fork tender.  (Pop one in your mouth to double check it’s done.)  It will take anywhere from 15 – 30 minutes depending on the size/thickness of your beets!

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Beets, Beets, Roasted Beets!

  1. Pingback: What’s for Dinner? | Plant Based for Health

  2. Pingback: This Week’s Menu | Plant Based for Health

Leave a Reply

